Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Subaru Impreza WRX

Comments

• merrycynicmerrycynic Member Posts: 340
    There is a definite learning curve to maximizing the WRX's potential. The Miata will probably always be more "intuitive" and the C5 Vette more powerful. They all have very different charms. Again the WRX probably has longest learning curve to appreciate it's charms.
  • nyccarguynyccarguy Member Posts: 16,426
    Very Odd your dealer wants MSRP for a WRX. Is he the only Subaru dealer within 3 states?

2001 Prelude Type SH, 2022 Highlander XLE AWD, 2022 Wrangler Sahara 4Xe, 2023 Toyota Tacoma SR 4WD

• stupendousmanstupendousman Member Posts: 36
    I got my WRX in Feb of '02 and I have 45,000 and I am still learning how to pull the power from it. IMO it is one of the car's charms. Sort of like the S2000 in the sense that if you know your car very well, it can be very rewarding.

This part cracks me up though:

"4. Turbo lag. Not quite sure what this is but what I sensed was that at 3k RPM or so in whatever gear that I would step on the gas and not much would happen for a second or two, then it would accelerate a bit faster. "

That IS turbo lag, but I never heard people describe it as "accelerating a bit faster." Most people say "At, 3,500 RPM my face suddenly became disfigured by the excessive force exerted on my body" or something similar. You do have to drive the car hard to get the most out of it, but that's what it is designed to do and I think the REX is up to the challenge.
  • c_hunterc_hunter Member Posts: 4,487