Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Mazda Protegé

Comments

• protegextwoprotegextwo Member Posts: 1,265
    "New Protege Owner (finally!)"
    by dkla

I own a pair of 2000 PRO-ES's with 32,000 mile each. I love them boys ;-)))!!!

1.) Don't spend the money for "the roof deflector", "does it make a big enough difference?". I personally don't care for the look of a sun roof deflector. It will make your PRO-ES look like a Corolla, lol!

2.)"I guess I should change out my oil at 1000 miles and not wait until the dealer service (something like 3500, 3750 miles), right?" Well, I'm not an expert, however; I changed the oil in both my Protege's at 1,000 miles and then again at 4,000 miles. I now change oil every 3,500 miles and rotate tires every other oil change. This program has worked for me so far!
    Dave, enjoy your PRO-ES!!!

Zoom Zoom
    -Larry
  • fowler3fowler3 Member Posts: 1,919
    Glad you made it safely cross country and now the proud owner of a Pro ES. Remember to come to the
    Thursday night chats (next one on January 3) and tell us about your motoring adventures.

About your report: "back on as long as you hold it, forward on until you shut it off" brights function."

European and Japanese drivers use Flashing Headlights instead of blowing the horn to alert other drivers. That's the reason for the "back ON until you release it" You are suppose to flip and release it rappidly to flash the lights quickly so as not to blind on-coming drivers.

Some European cities prohibit headlights on within the city, they use driving lights or parking lights. Those cities have very bright street lights making headlights unnecessary. When drivers flash their headlights other drivers see them immediately.