Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Saab 9-3 Coupe (2002 and earlier)

Comments

• jns2jns2 Member Posts: 6
    I have a 96 900SE, and I've been using the guys at Garden City Saab for a few years now. I think they're pretty good.
  • smu1976smu1976 Member Posts: 110
    I am a 9-5 owner, but had a 9-3 as a loaner during service. The stereo's are very similar and I thought you 9-3 owners will enjoy the following tip. Hit your weather band at the same time you turn your stereo on. Then you want to raise the "start volume" to the mid to higher twenties range (preset is nine). After about 8 seconds the volume will decrease automatically.
    What you have done is raise the amplifier setting on the car. This about triple's your wattage, which will give you a much fuller sounding stereo.
    The "start volume" is not the volume when the stereo is turned on, but rather the "gain" on the harmon kardon amp. Big difference. Many Saab owners complain about their stereo, but few know that the amp setting is set at less than one third of the power (a setting of "30" is tops).
    Enjoy. I must say, except for a little more of a bumpy ride which my old bones can't take, the 9-3 is very similar to the 9-5, a very enjoyable car to drive. Love the hatch!
  • pocmonsterpocmonster Member Posts: 15