Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Highlander Accessories and Modifications

Comments

• landdriverlanddriver Member Posts: 607
    Hey ktt:

It's a learning experience for both of us as I'm new to car audio too!

I saw in the soundgate document the reference to relocate the HL HU, and I agree that's a ridiculous solution; I assume it relates to HUs in general and not to a specific model?

Out of curiosity I downloaded the installation manual for the DEH-3700MP and they have a wire labeled "Blue/white -- To system control terminal of the power amp or Auto-antenna relay control terminal (max. 300 mA 12 V DC) / System remote control" which I take to be the "remote" line, so not sure why this wouldn't control the factory amp properly. I went the other way -- am controlling an aftermarket amp with the HL OEM HU; connected the OEM HU's "remote" line to the aftermarket amp's remote input, and it works fine.

Anyway you've got your system working, and based on the above post from chrisb74, you're probably better off without the factory amp!!!

Three years back tried contacting JBL to get specs for the HL's speakers but their response was the same as the one they gave you...
    Someone else on these boards sometime back also said replacing just the HL HU improved the sound quality noticeably, but don't remember whether they had the JBL system and if so whether they bypassed the factory amp.

I'd be very interested to see those pics!
  • kttktt Member Posts: 4
    Thanks again for your input and research, landdriver. What year Highlander do you have, and do you remember how many pins the HU connector had?

I'm pretty sure the XR4 app notes refer to the specific Highlander HU that's paired with JBL amp. There seems to be some strange interaction between the to that makes replacing the OEM HU hard.