Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

MB 190 2.3 BROKEN CAM

eddornigeddornig Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Mercedes-Benz
The car has 120,000 and suffered a broken cam. I have been working on cars (shade tree)for 35 years and have never ran into this. I called MB and they didn't even want to talk about it. Since mine broke I have heard about two others. Has anyone heard about this being a problem? Any secret recalls?

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    Sorry about your problem! It happens now and then, usually some kind of internal stress crack. Did anyone recently work on your timing belt/chain? (I think yours is a chain on that engine....please correct me if I'm wrong).

Anyway, at 120K there's certainly no recall. Your car is nearing the end of its life (or at least has spent the best part of it's say 150K potential) and these types of fatigues can pop up, statistically speaking. It's not common but it's very possible on any 120K car.

Aside from all that, the 2.3 was not Mercedes finest effort. Unless the car is pristine in all other respects, you may wish to consider patching it up with a used cam and getting something else.
    I wore out (not broken) a cam at 80K and put in a good used one, and it worked out just fine. I didn't go for the new cam and a valve job and all that, because my car wasn't worth all that much...about the same as yours I think. Another course would be a used engine of lower mileage, if you could find one. I'd guess a rebuild would cost more than the car is worth, and a new cam/valve job probably an easy $2,500.

So I'd say you have some thinking to do, and consider all the alternatives. But really, any compensation from Mercedes is hopeless. Forget that one, sorry.
  • mike348mike348 Member Posts: 9
    I hear you with that cam.