Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Jeep Grand Cherokee Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• Options
    jenwjenw Member Posts: 3
    I have a 1998 JGC Laredo 5.2L V8 all time 4x4. It has 125K on it and still runs great. I started only driving it periodically after gas prices became stupid. With the inactivity I started seeing drops of transmission fluid under it. The leaking started getting worse as time went on. I see where it is leaking on the back of the tranny, I think it is a worn out gasket. I also see fluid dripping off the tranny pan but for the life of me I can't see where it is coming from. My question is...how hard is it to replace the gasket on the back of the tranny and on the pan? Will I have to drop the entire tranny? How long would it take a non experienced person to do it? I've never worked on the tranny before so I'm a little apprehensive about it. I replaced the water pump awhile back on my own as my brother said "it isn't that difficult". I will never take his word for working on any vehicle again.......Took me 4 days to replace it and to get it to stop leaking fluid after the install.
  • Options
    sobbadsobbad Member Posts: 4
    Didnt see any other post with this problem so here goes. It is an intermittent problem so its hard to fix. While driving at normal speeds the tranny acts like its going in and out of lock-up. You can watch the tach and it will jump up 200-500 and then back to normal. This will continue until you speed up and the vehicle downshifts or hit the overdrive button. Seems like it does it worse while cold but also does it hot. I can drive sometimes a week and no problem and then do it everyday for a week. Any suggestions.
  • Options
    kapgcpkapgcp Member Posts: 1