Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Jeep Grand Cherokee Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• I agree with offroadpep. Is the engine cranking freely? Is it getting air & fuel?
  • rwengrrwengr Member Posts: 177
    You will need a digital voltmeter and wiring diagram. You may have blown a fusible link or have a bad ground. When checking continuity on a ground wire make sure one clip lead goes all the way back to the (-) terminal of the battery. Unfortunately, this will all take time and as you have already seen, experimenting with solutions is not cost effective. I once replaced a rear wiper motor and the problem was the switch that turns the wiper on. I replaced a power window motor and the problem was the track. I'm an electrical engineer and it has taken me days to track down electrical problems. I hope you kept your old engine computer so you will have a spare. There was probably nothing wrong with it. Basically, if you need it fixed right away you will have to go to a mechanic $$$.
  • wpatterswpatters Member Posts: 54
    I was lucky when the same thing happened to me going up a 13% grade. The coil burned out...150k miles on a 93 gc 6 cyc. Was getting fuel but no spark. Pulled the coil wire and there was nothing. Replaced and all OK...but was told if that did not fix it check the crank sensor. Pulling a hard grade like that in an old jeep is common to put such a load on the coil that it frys. In that area the Napa guy said they have seen coils that actually looked hot!!

Good luck
  • rsi1rsi1 Member Posts: 1
    edited October 2011
    Could some please help me with this. Need Valve guides for my Grand Cherokee 2001. I'm from South Africa and the supplier here do not sell the valve guides on there own ( need to buy the hole head .... crazy i think ??? ) Please could any one help ?

Any one that can help can mail me at delteur@internext.co.za

Thanks guys