Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nitto Tires..

blkmgkblkmgk Member Posts: 54
Anyone familiar with the brand nitto.

Comments

• lancerfixerlancerfixer Member Posts: 1,284
    But I watched "Iron Chef" last week and the featured ingredient was natto. Looked like nasty stuff. Even the Iron Chef said he didn't like natto and never used it in his cooking.
  • zueslewiszueslewis Member Posts: 2,353
    and are very comparible to BF Goodrich, Michelin, Dunlop (the major brands). They specialize in performance applications and also do a very good SUV tire, off-road tire and a good ol' passenger car radial.

I was a Regional Manager for Super Shops and we carried Nitto as a secondary brand to BF Goodrich and Michelin. I have NT 450s on my 84 GTi autocross car and they're doing well in all aspects.
  • lngtonge18lngtonge18 Member Posts: 2,228
    Great to see another original GTI owner!! I have an 84 too but have kept it mostly stock (Neuspeed upper and lower stress bars, Neuspeed SofSport springs, Bilstein HD front shocks and Boge Progas rear shocks). I have Dunlop SP Sport 8000 and they grip the road like no other tire. Hows your GTI been holding up? Would love to hear all about your car. I love my GTI and could never part with it.
  • bretfrazbretfraz Member Posts: 2,021
    Well, it's a bit much to compare Nitto to Michelin and Dunlop (guess we forgot Goodyear and Bridgestone as other "major brands").

Nitto is a rather small Japanese tire company and Zues is right, most of their tires are targeted towards the low profile - performance type. The NT450 is by far their most prevalent model on the road. I must admit I rarely see a Nitto SUV tire.

Nitto is a good value product and should be compared to Toyo, Falken, Dayton, Kelly-Springfield and the other "value" brands.
  • blkmgkblkmgk Member Posts: 54
    Let me be the first to sample nitto.