Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Oldsmobile Aurora Maintenance & Repair

Comments

• pscheidpscheid Member Posts: 190
    You didn't say what the engine temperature gauge reads when the car boils over.

You also didn't say how the car has been maintained, especially if you are not the original owner and don't know if the radiator cooling capacity has been trashed by less than the required scheduled maintenance, power evacuation and antifreeze replacement.

My original radiator worked just fine with a usual operating/running temperature of a sliver under 200 degrees ON THE GAUGE, which may in itself be inaccurate. So here goes.

I am no mechanic, but I believe the thermostat, as you face the engine from the front, is located on the top right side of the engine where the radiator hose connects to the housing you mention. The thermostat is in that housing. The water pump is in that location as well. Check for leaks from both.

The 95-99 Classics have no grill, so virtually all fresh air flow to the radiator is solely dependent on that flexible air dam snapped and bolted properly under the front fascia to direct air over the radiator. Notice that the fresh air is being taken right off the molten hot pavement. Not ideal, but it works.