Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

TOWING PROBLEM

robert1972robert1972 Member Posts: 51
edited March 2014 in Dodge
Hi all,
I have a 97 Dodge 3500 diesel with a 5sp trans. when I hook up my car transport the truck sometimes starts to bounce, it feels like if you step on and take your foot off the gas real quick and keep doing it over and over while driving down the road. I have noticed that a small bump in the road will set it off. The trailer is a 5th wheel/goose neck, it weighs 7000ibs but it doesn't matter if it is loaded with 16,000ibs or empty. I have added 2 springs and a new set of shocks and checked every nut and bolt while it was on the lift. I also hooked up another trailer and it still does the same thing. It won't do it empty though. I have been using this truck for about 2 years and the problem just started and seems to be getting worse.
thanks for your input.
R......

Comments

• lariat1lariat1 Member Posts: 461
    Sounds like shocks to me. There are only 2 things that I can think of that cause the problem you have one is too much weight on the truck and the other is shocks. Being a 97 I would suspect the shocks. Monroe makes good heavy duty shocks that should work for many years and they are relatively inexpensive. Ranchos will also work but they cost more and are tuned more for off road use.
  • robert1972robert1972 Member Posts: 51
    I did replace the shocks, and I also thought about the weight, but empty it weighs 7000ibs, which that truck should handle with no problem. The other thing is, it makes no diff. if it is loaded or empty (7000ibs to 16000ibs) it does the same thing. Like I said, it doesn't bounce up and down, it feels more like flooring it and letting off, doing it quickly (example 7-8 times in a 5 second period).

Thanks for your input though
    R.....
  • lariat1lariat1 Member Posts: 461