Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Subaru Legacy/Outback Wagons Maintenance & Repair

Comments

• ecycledecycled Member Posts: 2
    Hello,

I am looking at a few used Subaru wagons.

OPTION 1 is single local owner 2002 Subaru Outback with just under 110,000 miles. It is being sold through a local dealership. What I've found using the VIN looks good. Asking just over $10k. From the standpoint of price it sounds good yet will this car last? What issues are known about this model?

OPTION 2 is a 2004 Subaru Outback listed as a "Certified Pre-Owned" with 68,000 miles yet it is $5k more than option 1 above. Is it worth the extra money for the "Certified" warranty? I'm a Grad student so keeping my monthly as low as possible is priority one.

Thanks.

ecycled
    Salt Lake City, UT
  • paisanpaisan Member Posts: 21,181
    Are you pulling the engine + trans together? Or just the engine?

-mike
    Motorsports and Modifications Host
  • tbragg44tbragg44 Member Posts: 24
    Engine only, so I don't have to mess with the half-shafts.
    Have you split the trans from the engine yet? That is usually the hardest part.

-mike
    I believe that's the step I'm at now. Is there a special tool I need? BFH? ;)

TB
    Well first thing make sure all the nuts and bolts are undone around the whole thing. That's the first key, the other thing is you need to wiggle and pull toward the front. Have you removed the radiator? You may try some small screw driverst to pry it away. It's just a lot of pulling and wiggling with a few friends.

-mike
  • fendertweedfendertweed Member Posts: 98
    you're spending $5k to save 42,000 miles of wear & tear ... IOW, you'll pay $0.12 per mile extra for each mile saved on the '04.