Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Altima Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
  • roadrunner70roadrunner70 Member Posts: 241
    my message about doing own oil change really brough out some comments.

anyway, before anyone replied i did the change. i like some others on this board are avid auto hobbiests. i have been changing oil and filters on cars for over 40 years, and on boats for about 10.

you don't need to jack up the altima at all, and a little care to remove the inner fender liner after turning the wheels to the right is all that it takes.

of course, there are many proper options to discard used oil and filters.

as far as time is concerned, it takes less time and is much more convenient to do my own oil and filter, and rotate tire, do brake jobs, etc, than to bring it in and leave it and go back and pick up, etc.

by the way, the last time i brough my nissan murano in for replacement of the rear hatch struts they did me a favor and did a courtesy inspection. they forgot to put the oil dipstick in all the way and oil was leaking out of the dipstick hole and dripping down under the engine.

i agree with comments from others, that over the years i have caught many small problems with cars by closely looking at them, workingn on them and making sure that my ride was safe, reliable and current with all required services.

that is my take on this subject rr70
  • jd10013jd10013 Member Posts: 779
    by the way, the last time i brough my nissan murano in for replacement of the rear hatch struts they did me a favor and did a courtesy inspection. they forgot to put the oil dipstick in all the way and oil was leaking out of the dipstick hole and dripping down under the engine.