Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Paint and Body Maintenance & Repair

Comments

• sddlwsddlw Member Posts: 361
    Thats'good advice from swschrad. I'd only use acetone as a last resort. It is a very harsh solvent for a car paint surface. If the solvents don't work, you might try buffing the marks out with a glazing compound and an orbital buffer.
  • twistinmelontwistinmelon Member Posts: 90
    Thanks for the recommendations. I used some Goo Gone at the recommendation of the guy at the local auto paint shop. It got the marker down 75 percent or so, but it's still there (though it looks purplish rather than black now).

I don't want to go any harsher w/chemicals than the Goo Gone. I'll try a foam pad w/ glazing compound first, then I'll have to take it to a professional b/c I'm not experienced with a buffer.

Thanks again. I'll let you know how it works out.
  • ripujeetripujeet Member Posts: 2
    Wonder if someone could suggest on how to remove light scratch on my late model light green ford.

Noticed couple of scratch removing products at the store. Any pros/cons for using these products.

Thanks in advance for any tip.
  • britton2britton2 Member Posts: 305
    I would try Meguiar's Scratch X - it comes in a black tube and I got mine at Wal-mart -
  • sandman46sandman46 Member Posts: 1,798
    I tried that other brand, can't recall its name now, and it did absolutely nothing with my scratch. Totally bogus product! Does anyone else know of a product that truly does work???

The Sandman :-)
    I would try Mequires "Swirl Remover" followed by "Show Car Glaze" using a good orbital buffer and a foam pad.

Alternatively, try using a non-whitening toothpaste and the orbital buffer/foam pad. It's a little mesy, but usually does the trick.