Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Subaru Baja

Comments

• rshollandrsholland Member Posts: 19,788
    Agreed, and more utility too. Most of us have been saying the same thing for some time here.

Bob
  • yooperyooper Member Posts: 30
    I posted this on one of the Subaru Chat threads but it was quickly buried with discussion on the new Outback. I think based on what has been stated in the last few posts it can be posted again.

Where is Subaru's advertising? I think they targeted the wrong audience. Subaru needs to compare the Baja to other vehicles and highlight its utility features.

I have hauled in my Baja: a riding lawnmower, mulch, shrubbery, gas cans, garbage cans (with garbage), recycle materials, lumber and who knows what else. Of course the occassional bike too. I have also taken on 2 foot deep snow drifts and snow banks when I was a volunteer Ambulance driver and was responding to an emergency. However, it is primarily a commuter that also carries my family when necessary. Yet, I still get decent gas mileage.

My point: Why can't Subaru target young families that need a commuter vehicle that also serves as a utility vehicle?

Imagine a commerical like this. A Baja at the gas pump next to a full size pick up and a sedan with the owners conversing. Show the vehicles with the exact same cargo (say a lawnmower and a can of gas). The sedan owner complains about messing up the trunk (with a lawnmower hazardously sticking out the back)and stinking up the interior with a gas can also in the trunk. Meanwhile the full sized truck owner is complaining about pumping in $50 of gas, yet is hauling the same load. Next the commercial highlights the Baja owner who has a $20 gas bill, the lawn mower and can of gas in the back, not to mention the kids (or car pool gang) in the back seat.