Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Questions About Auto Insurance and Accidents

Comments

• user777user777 Member Posts: 3,341
    sfo,

i don't want to lead you astray. i am just a driver, not an insurance guru. i personally don't think diminished value is specific to luxury automobiles...

you might want to try posing that question over in the "Real-World Trade In Values" forum...ask them what is your vehicle worth retail and trade with it's present age, mileage, options, condition etc, (but asuming it was never hit) and then ask them what it would be worth retail and trade if it's been repaired (and i guess you'll have to provide your information on what has been damaged, and the estimate to repair).

you could also ask them if a carfax report on your vin will show that the vehicle sustained significant damage.

the expert there "Terry" (screen username: rroyce10) always qualifies his estimates of value assuming no significant repairs.

as for parts, here's one site (there are many out there I guess) that provides pricing on OEM parts. I like the fact you can see diagrammatically the parts for the various sections of the vehicle.

http://www.hondaautomotiveparts.com/auto/jsp/mws/catdisplay.jsp

good luck.
  • mikefm58mikefm58 Member Posts: 2,882
    My 16 yr. old son got in a little fender bender. His 2nd one in less than a year. In the first one, it was claimed on our insurance, $3200 damage to my vehicle, don't know how much to the other car. He rear ended her car, said it wasn't too bad, but I'm sure there were some damages. On my most recent policy renawal, there's an accident surcharge of about $70, surprisingly small.

In the most recent accident, he pulled out in front of someone, so it was definately his fault. Damage to their car was a scratched wheel and a few scrapes on the panel, don't have the estimate yet. Damage to my car was $2000.