Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Subaru Crew Problems & Solutions

Comments

• c_hunterc_hunter Member Posts: 4,487
    Check out a "real" auto parts store -- this is a fairly typical tool that they probably carry.

Craig
  • hondafriekhondafriek Member Posts: 2,984
    I fitted a block heater in My GT wagon and all I had to use was the plain end of a half inch socket extension.

Cheers Pat.
  • williamskmwilliamskm Member Posts: 20
    The dealer called me last night and said they found the problem. They said the PCV valve was stuck open and drawing oil into the intake (Bear with me I am a nurse and a computer tech, not a mechanic :-). THey said this should also solve the rough idle and hesitation I was experiencing. I pick the car up tonight and will post later how it is running.

The dealer still wants to do 500 mile oil checks for the next 2000-3000 miles just to make sure I am not losing oil.

ANd about the "normal" oil usage, I think that is a cop out as well, but Subaru won't authorize any warranty work if it is using any less than the 1 quart per 1,000 miles.
    Kim
  • rangnerrangner Member Posts: 336
    thanks for the feedback

Eric
  • wrxfanboywrxfanboy Member Posts: 25
    After going to the dealer today they topped off the engine and didn't find any leaks or any other possible causes of my oil consumption. They claim they checked the PCV valve and the gaskets and no signs of a problem.

They basically told me to keep an eye on it until my oil change at 3750 miles. Also if any oil needs to be added they told me to take it to them.

I checked it after about 80 miles of driving today after the dealer visit and it is reading perfect now.

Thanks for the information you guys and gals provided and I will keep y'all posted.

Kim, hopefully that's all it was for your vehicle. Keep us up to date and let us know if anything happens.