Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Dodge,Ford,Chevy------who wins?

Comments

• RoclesRocles Member Posts: 982
    Hey! what of my earlier questions? Tell me about quality differences of the big three. thanks
  • jeff84jeff84 Member Posts: 13
    built a radio station transmitter site at 10,000' been running it on john deer diesels for 10 years. used up 2 fords 3/4 4x4. still have the 94. they burn oil like a champ. ( thats where I put all my waste oil) just kidding. the gauges all fail on both trucks but I never got stuck 20 miles up in the mud and snow. been using a 96 blazer for the last 2 years. 50,000 miles off road in 2 years. no problems. just bought a new 3/4 4x4 chev for the smooth ride on the 20 mile dirt road. the open axle is great in the mud. don't let people give you that bull about a solid axle is better off the road. I was a dealership mechanic for 10 years befor getting this station. you havent been scared till you slide off the side of a road you cant see because of the snow covering the mud.
    jeff84, Do you prefer open or a solid axle? It wasn't quite clear. I presume the Fords had this axle also? I'm curious-thanks.
    NEVER buy a manual if you plan on a considerable amount of towing. Automatics can tow twice as much pounds without any stress to the tranny. Manuals are fine for other jobs---just not towing.I would seriously re-think your decision to consider manuals.
    Most people would agree with my two cents.
  • cdeancdean Member Posts: 1,110
    Rocles,