Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Honda Accord 4 cyl/150HP automatics get very dissappointing gas mileage

bd21bd21 Member Posts: 437
edited March 2014 in Honda
I have a 2001 Honda Accord LX 4cyl/150hp automatic that I bought new a year ago and I am very dissapointed in the gas mileage that I have been able to obtain. The car is meticiously maintained, I'm a mechanic. The car was broken in properly, 5W-20 weight oil is used and correct tire pressure maintained. In over 15,000 miles of driving using a very conservative driving style I get 21-22.5 MPG in the light flat city driving and 27-28.6 MPG on pure flat interstate 10 driving. The car is rated at 23 city/30 highway. I have never owned a car that I didn't exceed EPA estimates by at least 2 or 3 miles per gallon. I have had Honda check out the car and they changed the computer, but the mileage stayed the same. I have also talked to several people that have a Accord like mind and they are in the same boat. Accord's gas mileage is just not very good when compared to a like cars, Camry, Altima etc.

Comments

• Options
    lancerfixerlancerfixer Member Posts: 1,284
    ...but are you using gas with any additives, such as ethanol? I noticed when I used ethanol-"enriched" gas in my '94 Accord 5-speed my mileage dropped by about 4 mpg in the summer and as many as 6 mpg in the winter. I now run 100% gas strictly, and see about 33 mpg highway and in the 26-27 range in town (anywhere from 1-3 mpg less in the dog days of summer with the A/C cranked, which will also definitely hurt mileage, and I'm guessing you're using it a lot if you're driving down south on I-10.)
  • Options
    bd21bd21 Member Posts: 437