Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan Quest 2004+

Comments

• tamu2002tamu2002 Member Posts: 758
    Hmm, the service guy at my dealer told me both the front and rear pads are just metallic and not even semimetallic. But I got a feeling he wasn't very sure. Maybe your dealer is correct on this one. Based on what they charge for their pads, you'd think they're ceramic!

The ceramic pads on my front tires cost ~$30-40 more than the semimetallic, not a huge jump in price. If you're that concerned with braking, you might want to install ceramic pads all around. I'm not sure about their stopping power, but they ARE silent. I'm not an expert on the various brands of brake pads. Someone else can chime in on that one.
  • delthekingdeltheking Member Posts: 1,152
    Yup,,for the price they were charging,,I too thought that they were ceramic pads! ;)
    Regarding brake pads--I am not too worried about stopping distance--as all are pretty OK and I drive cautiously :P --It`s whether they reduce the steering wheel shake/shimmy?
    Did ceramics on your Quest reduce the shake?
    Also do frozen rotors help with the shake?
    Thanks
    Funny you should mention steering wheel shakes. Ours shook very badly before the replacement when braking, now the shake is completely gone. The fron ceramic pads are silent, but the rear semimetallic ones, as expected, make some noise when cold. I don't feel any difference in stopping power. Overall, I'm happy with the brake job, especially considering the price paid.
  • dtownfbdtownfb Member Posts: 2,918