Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

My 2003 Jetta is consuming oil

2»

Comments

• giniminginimin Member Posts: 4
    so we brought the car in at 1084 mi... we had a trip so we went a little over. the dealer checked the car and we were down 1 1/4 quart of oil!!! so of course they inform me that's BAD!!! duh. I have been telling them for 3 years/ 38000 mi that it was bad and they reply "that's normal" You see my wife loves volkswagons or maybe loved? She has had 6 of them and no complaints. we had an 88 jetta and sold it to a friend with 195,000mi with no oil burning, no problems other than a water-pump and timing belt and it was GAS not diesel and its still running mint!! So now they say another 1000 mi test and its going in they don't need a third. they topped off the oil and we are in the early miles of this test. Now I have two gripes with them... 1-does this cause damage to anything other than the rings (Thats the fix for VW) and 2- my wife does not have a car for 2-3 weeks......... That's not sitting too well with us because now I have to rent a car for up to 3 weeks!!!!!!! I don't see how that's fair, it's not my fault the little gremlins in white jackets said these cars were good for sale!!!!!!
  • swschradswschrad Member Posts: 2,171
    but IMHO it was close to the edge. most cars have something close to a quart of reserve oil to guard against "some idiot user" running it dry, that's the mandatory ADD mark on the dipstick. you can run a little lower without damage, but at some point, depending on the car, you don't have the crankshaft touching oil any more.

that's bad, because the lower engine is splash lubricated in all engines I know about. that means crank, rods, pins.

if you didn't have noise, you probably didn't have damage... but it's a good thing you're only going through another cycle of this.