Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

What is the maintenance $ on a 3 series

katsdadkatsdad Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in BMW
I am new to the BMW market. I am thinking about buying a '96-'98 3 series. What I would like to know is what costs are typical for these cars for average yearly maintenance. I would appreciate any input.

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    You might click on the tab marked "Ownership" at the top of this page, and then click on "Maintenance Guide". This feature will calculate the costs of your next service. You can compare it to other makes of cars if you wish to get a better idea for comparison purposes.

Depending on how much you drive, a typical major service for a 3 series seems to run in the $400 range. This of course doesn't include "expendables" like tires, or unexepcted repairs either.

Generally, I ballpark a car like this at $100/150 a month to keep everything up to a high standard.

This presumes, of course, that you are starting out with a very well cared for used car.
  • q45manq45man Member Posts: 416
    High standards is such a variable COST term!
    Many people just want one to crank and a rare few demand it be as new in every aspect.....the differences can amount to thousands per year!

Since it depends on where you live since the hourly labor cost can vary from $120/hr [CA/manhattan] to $50/hr [Mississippi], and labor is roughly half the equation.
    7-11 cents per mile plus any adjustment from the average $85/hr.
    The State of Texas did some calulations on its car fleet and it average 8 cents per mile and we can assume the vehicles were not kept perfect.

There are diffferences among engine sizes 4 vs. 6 cylinder and manual vs automatic, tire sizes and driveer abuse constant and local traffic conditions [brake applications per mile].

Tires can vary from $60 each to $150 each.