Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Help, I'm a new driver and insurance costs are giving me a heart attack

13»

Comments

• joel0622joel0622 Member Posts: 3,299
    Then your Aunt is liable if anything happens and they can go after her in a law suit.

Not to sound like a smart [non-permissible content removed] but the best advice I can give is to move to a state that does not rape you to live there.

Your rates are 750% higher then mine and I feel pretty confident in saying that a guy who does the same thing I do for a living does not make 750% more on an annual basis.
  • blueiedgodblueiedgod Member Posts: 2,798
    Your rates are 750% higher then mine and I feel pretty confident in saying that a guy who does the same thing I do for a living does not make 750% more on an annual basis.

I can tell you that you are absolutley right. I moved to Buffalo from Stamford, CT (originally from the Bronx, NY) and the cost of living is astronomical compared to NYC and suburbs.

My mortgage payment on a 1500 sq. ft house (yard, garage) in 2nd safest town in the whole US (Amherst, NY dropped from No. 1 spot after an anti-abortionist killed an obstetritian) is $375/month. Compare that to my sister's $3500/month rent on a 600 sq. ft apartment on 34th street and 10th ave in Manhattan.

Given that we are in different industries, but she does not pull in anywhere near the 10 fold difference in the cost of living. She DOES make more, but only 10-15% more and only because she is in finance field and I am in R&D field.

A friend of mine who lives in Manhattan is in the same field and makes just as much as I do in Buffalo.

Some will think that life just stops outside of the isle of Manhattan, but they are just as wrong as the people who proposed that earth was flat and sun rotated around the earth.
  • bobstbobst Member Posts: 1,776