Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Tundra Gas Mileage

jtedjted Member Posts: 17
edited March 2014 in Toyota
I have a new Tundra withn 1300 Miles on it I can
only get (best) 14,5 Mpg (worst) 11.5 Mpg, What are
other Tundra owners getting?

Comments

• redfox1redfox1 Member Posts: 42
    As of the first part of this month, I had 9108 miles on my Tundra with an average of 17.17 mpg for this distance. (Reference Msg 244 on Tundra - IV dated 03 Feb '00. Your mileage should get better, altho I'm surprised at your mpg. At the very beginning my mpg was in the 17+ range. Good luck.
  • 26andrew126andrew1 Member Posts: 93
    two words for ya DRIVING HABITS
  • tundrasaursrextundrasaursrex Member Posts: 49
    I'm a fairly conservative driver. But I do mash the pedal everyonce in a while. Here are my stats for a Limited Access Cab 4x4 TRD with all options using premium fuel:

1st fill-up 13.78 30/70 highway/city
    2nd " " 14.22 " " " "
    3rd " " 14.36 " " " "
    4th " " 15.75 " " " "
    5th " " 16.22 70/30 added canopy

average distance between fill up 315 miles
  • jtedjted Member Posts: 17
    I'm not a lead foot. I dive 6.5 miles to work about half at 45 to 50 miles per hour, I am Very happy with the ride and etc. Just not the gas mileage.
  • ferris47ferris47 Member Posts: 131
    I get an average of 15 mpg around town and 17.5-18.5 with strict highway driving. Overall I am happy. I have been driving trucks long enough now to know that V8+Bad Aero-dynamics+lead foot=bad MPG and I am ok with that.

14.5 sounds really low as an average. Are you using oxygenated gas?
  • rs_pettyrs_petty Member Posts: 423
    Short trips are death to gas mileage. What is your warm-up time? If your miles are to/from work then that may be all you'll get. Try a full tank interstate trip and see what a steady highway speed brings.
  • dannygdannyg Member Posts: 131