Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Luxury Performance Sedans

Comments

• consult77consult77 Member Posts: 26
    Concerning the strength of vehicle roofs:

Based on information I have been reading about Ford Explorer lawsuits (I'm no expert on this subject), the U.S. Government rules on roof strength are that the roof must support one and one-half times the vehicles weight in a static test. (The vehicle is gently set on its roof.)

The Explorer was at something less that 2x in some past models and Ford has apparently lost lawsuits because the roof was considered too weak. Based on what I read it appears that roofs must be able to support over 1.5x the vehicle's weight, (6,000 lbs for a 4,000 lb. vehicle) and that it would be much better if the roof supported significantly more than 2x the vehicles weight.
  • jjacurajjacura Member Posts: 807
    These rollover figures are interesting and more important for driver safety than Audirules comparisons of withstanding drop dead weight to the roof of any car. His point doesn't mean much unless we are concerned about buildings dropping on us, and maybe [commofficer] in Iraq would be about the only one worried about that.) More importantly for us I think is....Buckle Up!
  • apriliabobapriliabob Member Posts: 6
    First of all,Capt Phil - thanks for your service.

Being an automotive engineer and having worked in both supplier and OE capacities, including Ford 2000, DB takeover of Chrysler, etc., I have learned the following:

American companies design vehicles for the shareholders. First and foremost is sales price - vehicle cost = profit. This takes more of a short term approach in both profit and vehicle cost (warranty costs, recalls, etc.). Tell an American company engineer that something doesn't work properly, and they say "we can't afford to change it".