Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Luxury Performance Sedans

Comments

• purplem46purplem46 Member Posts: 54
    If you ask me, $7K is an awful lot of money for AWD, a questionably better stereo (The TL's is one of the best in class) some Nav upgrades and a sunshade. Even BMW would give you more than that for $7K.

I'm not really a proponent of either the RL or TL, but I have driven both. The TL is a feisty car, but with front wheel drive (much the same as the maxima) torque steer is much more evident than in the AWD RL. That can be a real let down (buzz kill) when trying to drive aggresive in either straight line acceleration or in handling moves. Acura is still not competing with the handling cars of this class, but is more than enough for those that don't care to or have occasion to push. In my neck of the woods, TL's are the new A
    ccords, the are everywhere.
  • lexusguylexusguy Member Posts: 6,419
    I'm not really a proponent of either the RL or TL, but I have driven both. The TL is a feisty car, but with front wheel drive (much the same as the maxima) torque steer is much more evident than in the AWD RL. That can be a real let down (buzz kill) when trying to drive aggresive in either straight line acceleration or in handling moves.

I agree that the TL definitely is not the perfect car. The problem with the RL is that a TL with AWD would render it pointless. This is not an issue with the 330xi\530xi, A4\A6 etc. The RL just doesn't bring enough to the table, and people literally aren't buying it.
  • sfcharliesfcharlie Member Posts: 402
    "The RL just doesn't bring enough to the table, and people literally aren't buying it."

2001: For Acura, TL was up, selling 69,484 units. RL was down almost 28% from 2000.

2002: TL was down 12% from 2001,but is Acura's best-selling vehicle (60,764 sold). RL goes down another 12+% to 9,392.