Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

1999 Chevy Silverado 5.3 knock @ RPM

mike38mike38 Member Posts: 15
edited March 2014 in Chevrolet
99 silverado 5.3 has a noticable knock at about
1500 - 2000 rpm. You can actually hear it while
driving. Truck has 10K on it, Iam wondering if I
should carry-on and let the motor fuilly break-in
till I get woried about it. Any one else have this
knocking/clacking problem. It does it at operating
temperature.

Comments

• dbhulldbhull Member Posts: 150
    See my post in the Silverado XI topic. I am having the same problem. I have 17.5k miles on mine and it had this detonation last Summer as well. As soon as the temps got cool, the detontaion stopped.

I have a 180 degree t-stat and it hasn't helped.
    Catback exhaust helped some, but not significant.
    I just recieved the plugs that I ordered today in the mail. They are the NGK TR6 plugs (one range colder firing and copper core vise platinums). The think this will help. The platinum plugs retain heat more than the copper core plugs do, which causes higher cylinder temps. GM did this primarily for EPA. Great for gas mileage, poor on performance. This is why I think they covered themselves by putting in the owners manual that some spark knock is normal. Bull!

I am going to install these plugs tomorrow night. I will let you know what I find out.
  • arkie6arkie6 Member Posts: 198
    Try running a tank of high octane fuel to see if the knock goes away. If it does, then you have determined what is the source of the noise. I would take it back to the dealer for a checkout. I would also think that engine is pretty well broken in by 10K, so I doubt that the condition will get better with age.
  • redsilveradoredsilverado Member Posts: 1,000
    i agree with arkie, and a, my manual does'nt say
    anything about spark knock.
  • mike38mike38 Member Posts: 15