Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Stability Control, are you ready for it?

Comments

• seminole_kevseminole_kev Member Posts: 1,696
    I dunno. Somehow the ability to actually keep from doing that is far more rewarding than the car keeping me from doing what I'd like to do year round........oh, while charging $$$ for the pleasure of doing so.
  • davem2001davem2001 Member Posts: 557
    To me, that's sort of like saying "I don't need anti-lock brakes because I'm a good driver"

No human being's reaction times are as fast as the computer can react.

I just don't see the pleasure in fish-tailing all over the road on a snowy or rainy day - spinning out or worse...I'd pay a little extra to avoid that "thrill".
    Actually I like ABS and won't buy a (new) vehicle without it because of the fact that I can't beat it......but it doesn't interfer with that I'm trying to do the rest of the time.

When the weather is bad I drive within the limits of my vehicle and have enough skill to counteract issues like that. To me that is actually a fun part of driving and I'd hate to cut that out. Especially when it would cost me a good chunk of my own money to do it.

But I guess I could be the typical SUV driver I see every winter who drives like a maniac because 4 wheel drive and all these systems *will* "correct" their driving mistakes.......and later I see off the side of the road up ahead. I'm not so sure that it doesn't embolden the stupid to do even stupider things. That's beside the point and not the fault of the system, just something that I do not need, nor want.
    That's true too, I guess some people would think because they have stability control, they can just drive like it's a clear, sunny day and it will work electronic miracles for them.