Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2009 Toyota Corolla

Comments

• sonatabeansonatabean Member Posts: 201
    Sonata Beam, don`t you think corolla is losing market with the new "spaceship" Honda Civic Si, The new Mitsubishi EVO X, Sentra R, Subaru WRX and Mazda 3S.

Given I don't work for Toyota and am in no way involved in market research, demographics, and consumer spending, my answer is, "no - and even if I have an opinion, it's irrelevant because I don't work for Toyota."

There is a place for the zippy little cars - and that is what the Corolla XRS as well as Toyota-authorized TRD mods for Toyotas address: zippy little cars. SEMA is a good place for more info on aftermarket mods that manufacturers recognize, too. I suggest you get familiar with these three ideas.

As for "spaceship," I have this story to share with you.

When I graduated high school in May of 1986 (was 17 - do the math), that VERY same month, my Mother bought a new Continental with a digital dash. At first, we were all, "Ooooo! Cooooool! It's the Star Trek Lincoln!"

And, of course, I always wanted to drive her car, not mine, precisely because it was the Star Trek Lincoln.

As myriad wee annoying things about that car gradually led to collective mounting irritation, my Mother finally found a way to solve the issues.

Her solution?

An E-class Mercedes-Benz station wagon equipped with gauges and independent circuitry for things like "windows" and "seats" and "climate control."

"Trendy looks and gizmos" are only about trendy looks and gizmos. Quality and practicality are another issue - as evidenced by how RARELY the really-high-end builders change their interiors and sheet-metal.