Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Engine Removal

blackchevy1990blackchevy1990 Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Chevrolet
Im taking the engine out of my 1990 Chevy Silverado 350, 5.7 liter. I have no clue what the torque converter-to-drive- plate bolts are, or where they are. Can anyone help me?

Comments

• alcanalcan Member Posts: 2,550
    The drive plate is the flexplate or flywheel bolted to the back of the crankshaft. The bolts you refer to attach the flexplate to the torque converter. With the starter and converter splash shield removed, rotate the engine with a breaker bar and socket on the front balancer centre bolt for access.

Are you sure your experience level is up to this?
  • blackchevy1990blackchevy1990 Member Posts: 3
    So the bolts are on the flywheel or behind it? Im not that experienced but we have to get it out anyways. After an incident involving my step uncle, a screwdriver, and my number one spark plug hole he somehow messed up my engine pretty bad trying to find top dead center (dont ask).
    3 threaded lugs welded to the front face of the converter just in from it's outer diameter, 3 holes in the flexplate. The bolts go through the flexplate into the converter. Remove the cover and rotate the engine, you'll see them.
  • blackchevy1990blackchevy1990 Member Posts: 3
    Okay ill try that, ill let ya know if it works. You sound like you know what your talkin about, i may need to ask ya more stuff as i get to it!
  • goodwrench4evegoodwrench4eve Member Posts: 2