Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Credit Scores and Vehicle Financing

Kirstie_HKirstie_H Administrator Posts: 11,148
How does your credit score affect your financing rate for new or used vehicles? Ask questions and share your stories here.

MODERATOR /ADMINISTRATOR
Need help navigating? kirstie_h@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.
Share your vehicle reviews

Comments

• ingridringridr Member Posts: 20
    Hello!

I am a 30 year old single woman in Montana with sub-prime credit. I believe that my FICO score is around 600-610.

A little history: Supported myself through law school and relied heavily (and stupidly) on credit cards. I also had several late payments - up to 90-120 days on a couple occasions. Once I graduated and got a year long judicial clerkship (AKA lots of prestige and low low salary), I realized the severity of my money predicament and entered a dept repayment program through Consumer Credit Counseling Services.

This was two years ago. I repaid all my credit card debt within a year. I also purchased a home a year ago. I do have two credit cards again with a small balance but pay significantly more than the minimum and will have it paid off by the end of the year. In the last two years, no late payments etc. Also have been in a well paying job for the last year and a half as a prosecutor.

I currently own a 99 Subaru Forester outright and would like to purchase a used van (cost would be no more than 3K - 7K). I would not be trading in my Forester as I would be using the van to travel to dog shows and the Forester for all my other driving. However, I would need to finance the van.