Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Performance Driving School Experiences

Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
Have you been lucky enough to go through one of these schools? Your Host did the Skip Barber Open Wheel Course and thought it was one of life's best experiences.

But not everyone feels like that. Tell us about the experience, the type of school (purpose of the course, who ran it, etc.) the costs, your pros and cons on the instructors and cars, and the overall effect on your present driving skill.

Comments

• saqsaq Member Posts: 3
    Thanks for starting this topic up again!

- What does the Open Wheel Course emphasize? Was it 1 or 2 dys?

I am planning on taking the Skip Barber 1 or 2 day driving course this summer. :blush: ">

I will eventually try the Bob Bondurant School of High Performance Driving, but :( I am a very new driver and their course requires more road experience before coming.

I may also take a local defensive driving course before the summer, if possible.

1. Does anyone have advice on good local courses (North East states- preferably near the MD/ Wash D.C. area) that would emphasize excellent active driving skills on the streets and highways?
    ** I am also open to comments on courses in other parts of the country. Will you please mention the city and state.

2. Can anyone shed light on the meaning of these acronyms I have come across reading the posts? Are some better than others?
    CCC - Car Control Clinic
    SCCA - Sports Car Club of America
    PCA?
    CCA?

Thanks for your help.
  • Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    The Open Wheel Course is actually officially called the Three Day Competition Course, and gives you basic training on how to behave on a real race track and not kill yourself or anybody else.
  • fredmcmurrayfredmcmurray Member Posts: 215