Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Ford Freestyle Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• passat_2002passat_2002 Member Posts: 468
    Your dealer's service dept. is going to be the best source of information regarding the transmission problem. Just keep asking questions of your service advisor until you understand what they're talking about. If he can't explain it to you, ask for the service manager.

I'm not an expert on brakes.. but I can't imagine replacing the rotors and not simultaneously replacing pads.
  • tommyceetommycee Member Posts: 10
    The check engine light came on in my 2006 Freestyle purchased in January (6k miles). I brought it to the dealer and the dealer said that the gas cap was loose. They suggested turning the gas cap until it clicks and removing the keys when filling up. I did as suggested, however, the light came back on. Is there a way to reset so that the light goes off? I do not want to bring it back to the dealer when I know what the problem is. Has this happened to anyone else?
  • cmunizcmuniz Member Posts: 604
    There could be several reasons related to the emission system that would cause the light to come on, the gas cap being the most common. If you are sure that the cap is on tight and that it clicks wait a few days (drive a few miles) to see if it goes off. It might take a little while for it to reset. If it stays on for a week, then it is probably something else that the dealer has to diagnose. Some auto parts stores can diagnose it for you for free if you don't want to take it to the dealer.
  • nibyaknibyak Member Posts: 26