Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Ford Explorer Lease Questions

Comments

• baggs32baggs32 Member Posts: 3,229
    Car_man,
    I talked to my salesman and he's giving me a residual of .43 and a rate of 4.5% which makes my payments much higher than what you came up with. Is he giving me the run around? Would you be able to tell me what rate and residual you used for the calculations on an EB in post #100 and those for an XLT and Limited too?

Thanks again!
  • choprchopr Member Posts: 1
    Im new to leasing.A dealer quoted me a 4x4 XLT MSRP of $34960.00.It has alot of options that I like. They quoted $1000.00 down. 36 months. 15k mi a year for $474.50 a month.Is this a good deal? Should I find out the actual cost of the vehicle? What steps should I take next?
  • golicgolic Member Posts: 714
    chopr-

Leasing and buying are no different on the actual purchase of the vehicle. The purchase of the price is absolutley negotiable and you should review Edmunds TMV and Invoice pricing and go check the what others are paying in your area.

This is the end of month and dealers depending on thier month may give you a little bit more so they can hit sales targets.

Second, remember the only thing putting money down will do on a lease is lower your monthly payments. At the end of 36 months you will still pay X. So in other words if you don't put a 1000 down it should raise your payments by 27.77 (1,000/36).

My philosophy is never pay money until you have to. Secondly, if you took out gap insurance and you total the car "the next day" you might be insured but YOU are out the $1,000.

Good luck-
  • jbratxjbratx Member Posts: 40
    Car_Man,
    I live in Los Angeles, CA and I wanted to know how much I should expect to pay for the following vehicle: (With Nothing Down & With 1,500 Down)