Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2013 and earlier-Mercedes-Benz M-Class Lease Questions

Comments

• friendlybayerfriendlybayer Member Posts: 3
    I just walked into a Dealer in Los Angeles today. Here you go the deal;
    MRSP 51000, 27 Mth Lease, $4500 drive off, 10K / Year, the monthly pay is $545 without tax, with 700 MID FICO.

Does anyone know a better leasing program? Please HELP !!
  • automobile1automobile1 Member Posts: 1
    this is what i was quoted for a new lease on a ML 500 pck gr 2 +exterior appearance group:
    msrp:58365
    price 55600
    trade in 14591
    terms 39 mo
    rate 0.003815 (i have excellent credit...i was told this is MB tier 1)
    residual .59
    allow 12000/year
    net cap cost 43209.92

monthly 536.85

can i have some help deciding if it is a good deal or not?
    i am brand new at thos leasing thing and not too familiar with rates and costs...

thanks!!!
  • molearymoleary Member Posts: 9
    Couple of points:

They are making money of the "rate" - more commonly called the money factor. With tier one credit the money factor on that car is .00325. Dealers often mark this up because the consumer has no idea what they should be paying.

Unless you have money to burn (likely several thousand dollars) you should NEVER trade in a car. They are probably planning on making thousands on this part of the deal.

Also - IMHO it is never worth putting money down on a lease. All you are doing is saving the interest expense on whatever you use to reduce the cap cost. You will end up fighting (probably unsuccessfully) to get it back if you total the car.

The residual is correct, but make sure that they are calculating the residual based on the MSRP, not the purchase price. Residual values have no connection to what you pay for the vehicle.