Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Where Is Ford taking the Lincoln Motor Company?

Comments

• fintailfintail Member Posts: 57,167
    And a marketing specialty in household cleaners or furniture or something completely unrelated to cars. The results (endless failures) speak for themselves.

I have a marketing degree...so I can't criticize all of them (although I don't work in anything related to marketing)...but for one to manage a product, they should have some knowledge of and preferrably some enthusiasm for the product. Probably some cronyism at work there too.
  • fintailfintail Member Posts: 57,167
    If there was evidence of "enterprise", that blindly deferential adage would hold water. Unfortunately...
  • douglasrdouglasr Member Posts: 191
    "It's a lot easier to build a brand new factory then retro-fit an old one." Mr. Mark Fields said yesterday (06-14-06)at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce in Washington D.C.

In wide ranging remarks squarely aimed at the 'fairness' of the playing field, Mr. Fields added: "I am here because a successful domestic automobile company is a national treasure...We allowed ourselves to get bogged down in the accumulated decisions and systems of the past getting stuck in old ways of thinking and producing products of that thinking---vehicles trying to be all things to all people, but instead ended up being too little too few". These remarks account for his delaying by two years several key projects. His mantra to the rank and file: "If they will buy it, we will build it..."---turning round the assumption that "if we build it, they will buy it". One assumes that Mr. Fields intends for the consumer to be the arbiter of 'what Ford will build', since "we" ultimately must "buy-it". Therefore, "we" ultimately are in the drivers seat.