Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Chevy S10 - GMC S15 and Sonoma Stalling/Dying Problems

Comments

• doc15doc15 Member Posts: 37
    Had a thought about if my diagnosis could be wrong and the leak is coming from somewhere else. If the head gasket was leaking, would'nt the engine run like crap?
    The leak is showing up on the top front left part of my 4.3 Vortec Z engine.Like right next to the Thermostat housing.Is it possible the Lower intake Manifold could be leaking. the engine runs fine other than the leak.
  • littleoscolittleosco Member Posts: 11
    We have a 2000 S-10 with the same engine. As I recall, our leak was between the head gasket and the block. My husband says it is a fairly common problem with these engines. We took ours in to be fixed and it was several hundred dollars.
  • kalispellbob1kalispellbob1 Member Posts: 1
    Hi newbie here. I have an 83 S-10 P/U 4x4 with a 2.8 6cyl. in it i just bought. I am trying to figure out what causes it to die at stops. It starts up great, driving down the road fine come to a stop it dies. If you have any ideas that would be great. Thanks Bob :mad:
  • dstclairdstclair Member Posts: 2
  • dstclairdstclair Member Posts: 2
    I have a 98 sonoma ( 4 cyl.) that runs great and strong going down the road but when I stop and start to take off it bogs down and dies, It will start back up in 5 to 10 mins. and will run good for several days and then it will die again . I have been told that it is the 3rd cycl. I have replaced both coils, the plate that the coils bolt to tested and tested good. Replaced the fuel filter, plug wires, and plugs. Any clue what this may be? :confuse:
  • noxmartyrnoxmartyr Member Posts: 3
    haynes manuals are usuallly located at any local auto store , they have full electrical diagrams in the back and are only $20. well worth the money i own one for every car i have owned/