Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Buying an Older Civic

kamst152kamst152 Member Posts: 2
I am a 24 year old graduate student purchasing my 1st car and I need some advice.I wanted to buy a 2006 Civic but I think it is smarter to get a used newer model.I am moving from Pittsburgh, PA to DC in August and don't need the added stress of a new car payment.I found a 2002 Civic LX sedan with $73,540 miles on it (13,540 over the suggested KBB alotment).The dealership is asking $10,995 for it.Edmunds says it is worth $10,595.Since it has slightly higher miles, what price can I reasonably get for this vehicle?I have $2,500 to put down & I'm aiming for a $10,000 selling price out the door.I already arranged good financing aside from the dealership so not to get befuddled. My uncle says this is too many miles but I thought it was good considering it is a Honda.We are test driving Tuesday and I would like some feedback. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• slowpedalerslowpedaler Member Posts: 62
    Your Edmunds price should reflect the miles you entered in your search. My search, assuming the car is an automatic in "clean" condition, reported a dealer price of $10,718.00 if it were in Northern California. You should be able to talk them down to an even 10.

If the car is a one-owner with all the services done on time, it should be fine. How many miles do you expect to put on it annually? If you are looking at more than 20,000; I would get a lower mileage car.
  • nyer10nyer10 Member Posts: 21
    Hi,

Someone is offering a '05 dx vp civic for $5000 -- which obviously sounds kind of low. He says the title is clean with no liens but the car is manufactured in canada --though it's registered in new york. He says it's got 3,150 miles on it and he's selling because "i don't have the time to use it." Says he frequently works out of town ...