Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Honda Insight MPG-Real World Numbers

PF_FlyerPF_Flyer Member Posts: 9,372
With the price of gas being what it is, your real world mileage is becoming more important than the estimates on the sticker. This is the place to talk about your real world on the road results!

Comments

• billy5billy5 Member Posts: 4
    Hi all; I am new to this forum. Just thought I would report I am very pleased with my 2003 Insight. The car is a pleasure to drive, and I often exceed 1000 miles on just 11 gallons. I have AVERAGED 86.2 mpg over 33,000 miles so far. I am a pilot and verify my numbers using my GPS and saving fuel receipts. Generally, I just put a little extra air in the tires, and slow down slightly. These 2 things contribute greatly to increased mpg in any car.
        Anyway, I also spend alot of time cleaning the car, including the underside. I display it @ car shows on saturdays, and answer lots of questions and meet nice people. With the high % of highway driving I do, AERODYNAMICS and the lean-burn catalyst are the primary reasons for such high mpg, NOT the electic system (IMA).
         I applaud Honda for designing such a wonderful automobile........and shame on our culture & society for believing we need to have 300 horsepower and rush up to a stop light, only to slam on the brakes! We need to learn about momentum, leaving for work early & not hurrying! Billy......
  • gagricegagrice Member Posts: 31,450
    Billy,
    Welcome to the forum. I'm with you on all the extra horsepower some feel they need. I'd be tickled if I could get half your mileage with my Suburban ;-)
    Gary
  • gagricegagrice Member Posts: 31,450
    Here is the mileage test on the Insight. It is obvious that AC is a real challenge to those trying to get the maximum gas

http://avt.inel.gov/hifart.html
  • currijrcurrijr Member Posts: 1