Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Infiniti FX45 Real World MPG

steverstever Guest Posts: 52,454
edited July 2014 in INFINITI
Please report on your FX45 mileage in this discussion. Thanks,

Steve, Host

Comments

• ttummyttummy Member Posts: 6
    I typically get 16 mpg in mixed driving. When driving in NYC we sometimes get 9 mpg, but usually 12-13. On the highway usually 18-19 mpg. Never more than 20 mpg.

People in NJ and NY tend to drive very aggressively. I would say that when it is safe to do so, I like to use the extra two cylinders I paid for, but don't weave in an out of traffic, for example.
  • texasfx35texasfx35 Member Posts: 65
    I own a '04 FX35 (tech - no sport pkg) with 42K miles on it. I am a fairly conservative driver living south of the Houston metro area. Under normal everyday driving, which may include 20% highway miles, I will get 17-19 mpg on a tank full. Driving the posted 65 mph on the area freeways, I will easily get 25-26 mpg. If I drive a steady 70-72 on an extended trip to other metro areas in Texas, I usually will get 23-24 mpg. The FX35 engine does have a voracious appetite for gas if you have a heavy foot, which is the price you pay for moving that much mass at a good clip. I can drop the above mpg estimates by 15%, if I just want to have a little fun with the performance side of the vehicle.

We live in an EPA non-attainment area, so our fuels have 10% ethanol in them. Contrary to what has been touted that these fuels give poorer mileage, I believe I have noticed a slight increase in mileage since the switch, but this could be the result of me just driving more conservatively than usual with the current gas prices.
  • wvgasguywvgasguy Member Posts: 1,405