Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Honda CR-V at the Beach

whit7whit7 Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Honda
I'm a novice at off-roading and i'm considering a CR-V 4x4. Since the Honda doesn't have a 'locking' feature, will it be adequate in the sand at the beach?

Comments

• blueiedgodblueiedgod Member Posts: 2,798
    I'm a novice at off-roading and i'm considering a CR-V 4x4. Since the Honda doesn't have a 'locking' feature, will it be adequate in the sand at the beach?

It is not 4x4 but AWD and yes, it can handle the sand with tires aired down and driver knowing what he is doing.
  • steverstever Guest Posts: 52,454
    Just watch those tides. :shades:

mac24, "Land Rover LR3" #3746, 12 Jul 2006 11:23 am
  • tidestertidester Member Posts: 10,059
    How about sand that is not at the beach? These are the dunes near us - St. Anthony, ID:

You don't have to worry about tides! :)

tidester, host
  • steverstever Guest Posts: 52,454
    Bruneau Dunes State Park near my side of Idaho is the tallest single-structured sand dune in North America (470 feet). No vehicles allowed although you can hike up and ski or snowboard down. I did see a Lincoln Continental get stuck in some sand at a roadside pullout there one time. :D

St. Anthony looks like a bigger area than Bruneau; need to check that out. It's been years since I've been to Great Sand Dunes NP down in Colorado - it's a great spot too.
  • jimc67jimc67 Member Posts: 2
    which gear is best for beach driving- 4w Lo or 4w High - orwhen do you use each gear
  • daedae Member Posts: 143
    This is a CR-V forum. Ain't no 4W-Lo.

The answer is - it depends. One issue is that most manufacturer nowdays are playing protect us from ourself game and would not allow to engage lockers in 4-Hi, and that may be a must.