Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

BMW X5 Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• aling1aling1 Member Posts: 225
    I'm no expert, but I'll try to shed some light. I
    bet I'm going to have to create an X5 vs. Range
    Rover topic just to answer your question ;-)

The R.R. system has been designed for on-road as
    well as off-road use. It has a high range, as well
    as a low range for the really tough stuff. The X5
    only has high range since it's not meant to go
    off-road.

Low Range in the R.R. is accessable via the
    secondary gate on the H-shaped transmission
    gearbox. If you would like to try out low range in
    the R.R., stop the vehicle and place the
    transmission in Neutral, then move it over to the
    "N" position on the right side of the gate. After
    you hear the beeps, you're now in low range.
    Reverse the process to get out of low range.
    However, low range can only be used on
    slippery pavement, do not use it on dry pavement
    or you will risk damaging the transfer case. In
    high range mode, the R.R splits the power
    permanently and equally between front and rear
    axles at 50/50 vs the X5's 32/68.

This 50/50 split allows for a neutral feel and
    significantly less oversteer than the X5,
    especially in slippery conditions. A 50/50 split
    is also ideal for off-road situations, since there
    will be less surprises. BMW engineers felt that
    the 32/68 split would simulate the RWD nature of
    their cars better. Unfortunately, this RWD bias can
    also have its side effects (more later on this).

Like the X5, the R.R. also uses 4 wheel traction
    control to control wheelspin. The R.R. traction
    control system is identical to the X5's system.
    Since BMW used to own Land Rover, and BMW
    "borrowed" it for the X5 and 330xi after R.R
    engineers had developed the system.