Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Lexus LX 470

Comments

• vpotlurivpotluri Member Posts: 47
    I have been considering buying the LX470 for a few months now. I loved the vehicle. It is basically a choice between ML430, BMW X5 and LX470. It looks as though the 2000 LX470 is available for about 55K before options. I never wanted to pay 60K+ for this vehicle. I will not buy Land Cruiser as I hate Toyota dealers (I owned 4 Runner before). I have a few questions:

1. I hear emergency handling is poor on this SUV. I live in NJ and snow isn't too bad, but I must have nice handling. Is this truly a problem?

2. Should I wait for the 2001 model? I will not pay MSRP for any SUV. (I am removing X5 from my list). I suppose the 2001s will cost more than the 2000 model. Is there a disadvantage other losing some value of the truck right off the bat because I will buy the 2000 model so late?

3. Does anyone know if Lexus is offering anything new in the 2001 model?

4. Does anyone know if Lexus is going to redo this SUV anytime soon?

Thanks for the help.
  • scongroscongro Member Posts: 80
    The LX 470 will get some changes for 2001. Some thing that will change are puddle lights for running boards, and the addition of a compass and a DVD-ROM NAV system. Expect some very minor exterior changes also. However, these options will probably cost you over 60.

The Toyota Land Cruiser production is set to end after the 2002 model year, which leaves this SUV up in the air after '02. Will they base the new LX off of the Sequoia (Please god no), keep the platform alive only on the Lexus side of things, etc. So expect a major change for 2003, but nothing before then.

I live in Florida, so snow traction really isn't a problem here.
  • f888l888f888l888 Member Posts: 45