Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Acura TSX vs. BMW 328i

2»

Comments

• patpat Member Posts: 10,421
    Actually, this isn't the best place to get into detailed critiques of others' mileage.

Let's get back to the subject. Those who want to continue this conversation should meet up in the 3-Series MPG discussion.

Thanks.

(BTW, I'm just replying to the last message in the string - this is to all involved.)
  • shiposhipo Member Posts: 9,148
    I'm thinking that the reason that the post numbers in the "Real-World Mileage Numbers" discussion are so low is that most of us 3-Series owners spent out time in the now defunct 3-Series discussions and didn't even know there was a discussion dedicated to fuel economy. That said, I've been contributing in the various 3-Series discussions since 1998 and have read pretty much all of the 50,000 plus posts since that time. While I don't think there is a good way to prove this, it is my bet that there are literally hundreds of mileage related posts in those discussions, and it is very much the rare post that claims economy less than 20.

Thinking about this from a different perspective, one of the long time contributors to the E46 3-Series discussions, a certain brave1heart routinely races his 2001 325i, going so far as to run in the One-Lap of America (and doing so well that he was the highest placed E46 325i, beating out many M3s and other superior hardware in the process) series last year. I'll send him a message to confirm this, however, IIRC, he once made a post suggesting that he was getting somewhere around 15 mpg while racing. Not too shabby.

I'll keep y'all posted. ;-)

Best Regards,
    Shipo
  • shiposhipo Member Posts: 9,148
    Oops! I was writing my reply when you wrote your redirection. Sorry about that. :blush:

Best Regards,
    Shipo
  • bodble2bodble2 Member Posts: 4,514