Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Jeep Liberty Starting and Stalling Problems

Comments

• coatsmcoatsm Posts: 12
    Got the Libby back from the Dealer today. According to the Tech, a bad CAM sensor damaged the PCM. So in the end, the Crank sensor, CAM sensor, and the PCM have been replaced. The Dealer did not charge me for the CAM sensor. Which was very nice. The PCM is under the State/Fed 8 yr/80,000 mile warranty.

I will let you know tomorrow if this fixed the problem. :)

Matt
  • Hi maybe I can help.Im a chrysler/jeep technician. Ive seen these problems many times. Although I cant pinpoint your fault without seeing it ,here are some things that I have run into..
    First know this. Any sensor cam/crank/tps etcc..) that has a reference voltage from the pcm can cause this issue.
    these sensors,(ESPECIALLY THE CRANK SENSORS) CAN SHORT OUT INTERNALLY. THIS WILL CAUSE A NO START CONDITION AND A "NO COMMUNICATION" ISSUE WITH THE PCM. This condition has caused numerous unneeded pcm replacements. It gets difficult to diag when its an intermittent problem. sometimes a tech will install the pcm and let the jeep leave. Then when temp is right, the sensor shorts and it all happens again. Often by the time the jeep shows up on the hook the engine has cooled and the short is gone. In this case the tech has nothing to go on. YOU MOST LIKELY WONT HAVE A CODE HERE.
    THIS IS HOW I DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE. WHEN THE CONDITION IS PRESENT(NO COMMUNICATION") wITH THE KEY ON, START DISCONNECTING EACH SENSOR THAT HAS A REFERENCE VOLTAGE. START WITH THE CRANK SENSOR. IF YOU SEE THE SCANNER GET COMMUNICATION, THEN YOU FOUND THE SHORTED SENSOR.tHIS CAN BE A PAIN IN THE [non-permissible content removed] IF THE CONDITION IS INTERMITTENT.
    PLEASE NOTE: IT IS EXTREMELY RARE THAT THE PCM ITSELF HAS CAUSED THIS CONDITION. 99% OF THE TIME ITS A SENSOR SHORTING OUT, WIPING OUT ALL COMMUNICATION.