Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

BMW Z4 Care and Maintenance

ClairesClaires Member Posts: 1,222
Talk about maintaining and caring for your Z4.

Need help getting around? claires@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.

Tell everyone about your buying experience: Write a Dealer Review

Comments

• mdw1000mdw1000 Member Posts: 171
    Hello,

I am thinking of buying a Z4 roadster (or perhaps a 3 series convertible)sometime in the next couple years, but I just thought of something that might prevent me from doing so. I have some health issues that won't allow me to wash the car on my own, so I'd have to rely on automatic washes. But I was thinking this might be a problem with a convertible top. I have no experience with convertibles.

Any advice? Would I be ok with automatic washes, or should I forget about the soft top convertible route?

Thanks!
  • kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 237,123
    I don't know about a Z4, but I run my 3-series convertible through an automatic car wash... It is the best car wash in town... I've seen Porsche Carrera convertibles go through there...

The key is not to use any of the wax or "paint sealant" treatments... Just opt for the basic wash.. Soap and water only..

Ask around... and find out where the BMW and Mercedes owners take their cars... There is a lot of variance in quality and care between the car washes..

Ask the BMW dealer.. mine gives free hand washes on Saturdays, if you don't mind the wait..

regards,
    kyfdx
    Host-Prices Paid Forums

Edmunds Price Checker
    Edmunds Lease Calculator
    Did you get a good deal? Be sure to come back and share!

Edmunds Moderator

• habitat1habitat1 Member Posts: 4,282