Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Subaru Forester Brake Questions

13»

Comments

• ziggy15ziggy15 Member Posts: 2
    The problem of screeching brakes occured almost right away with the cars, maybe after 10,000 miles. I took it to the brake chain place, and they replaced the pads, cleaned and lubricated the other components.They also took care of the glaze. However, the screeching continued. they told me there was a manufacturing defect and that replacing the pads won't take care of the problem.
  • paisanpaisan Member Posts: 21,181
    There has been no reported "defects" in the brakes. I'd find a different brake place and get Pads, Rotors and a Flush of the brakes before doing anything.

-mike
  • sethjwsethjw Member Posts: 1
    I have a 05' forester XT. 26K miles. Recent brake inpection revealed brakes at 15 to 20 percent left.
    I have some experience with brakes but all on older vehicles.
    Will I need any special drives or tools to change the pads on this car?
    14mm wrench and a C-Clamp and about 1-2hrs of free time and you can swap the pads easily.

-mike
  • 2subarufam2subarufam Member Posts: 2
    My inspection was just about overdue so I took my 2006 Forester to Monro. They called me at work at said I needed new rear breaks (about 43,000 miles). I felt a little in a bind because I wanted to use subaru parts, but the guy convinced me the replacement parts they had were compatible. The cost was ~$190 for rear brakes.I know the manual specifies subaru breaks. Should I be concerned that I did not get subaru breaks?
  • ateixeiraateixeira Member Posts: 72,587
    Just use a brand you trust. The Magnussen-Moss Warranty act says that as long as the parts meet the OE specifications there is no effect on the warranty for the caliper and braking system.
    Never use Subaru parts for brake replacements. There are lots of better or cheaper parts out there.