Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Land Rover GPS Problems

dandrews1dandrews1 Member Posts: 184
edited August 2014 in Land Rover
Thought I would start a new discussion about something in the LR3 that I am starting to use more and more recently.

I am just getting into Geocaching, and the coordinate notation as I understand it can be in any of three different formats:

1. Degrees/Minutes/Seconds (ie. W78 degrees, 54 minutes, 23 seconds - this is what the LR gps seems to use)
2. Degrees/Minutes/1000ths of minutes (W78 Degrees 54.321 minutes)
3. Or finally total decimal notation (W78.786554)

Most people seem to use the second format of degrees, followed by minutes and decimal fractions of minutes. My handheld GPS unit can switch between all three formats, and my Palm-based gps can as well.

My question is how do I get the GPS in the Land Rover to display a different format? There does not seem to be any way that I can find to change it from Degrees/Minutes/Seconds.

This would aid tremendously, as now I have to do some add-hoc math in my head to divide the seconds displayed by 60 to get the decimal notation - not a very good thing to do while trying to concentrate on driving and avoiding any hazards on the trail!

Thank you!

Don

Comments

• Options
    british_roverbritish_rover Member Posts: 8,502
    That is a very good questions and one I do not know the answer to. I will do some research and see if you can change it.
  • Options
    Also, if you can find it, can you look to see if the GPS supports WAAS?

From my own observations, I am not certain if it does. Regular gps has accuracy within 15 meters.

WAAS enabled gps's are accurate to within 3-5 meters.