Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Jaguar XK-Series Chain Tensioner Replacement

Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
edited May 2014 in Jaguar
This topic is for discussion of chain tensioner problems on some of the older XK models, and how you deal with them.

Comments

• xkssxkss Member Posts: 722
    1997-1999 XK8s can suffer from timing chain tensioner problems. A 2000 model would be better while 2003-2006 are the best. 2003 XKs had over 900 changes.
  • brucelockebrucelocke Member Posts: 1
    Hi,
    I just spent $4200 to replace the tensioners, chains, etc on my 1999 XK8. Neither dealership nor Jag will do anything to help. I know there are two service bulletins on this problem (303-30 and 303-68). I'm new to the Edmunds forum and I couldn't figure out how to read your posting. Do you have any additional info on the problem or how to resolve it with Jag?
    Thanks, Bruce
  • charlie193charlie193 Member Posts: 5
    After reading of Bruce's problems with chain tensioners for his 1999 XK8, I queried the local dealer and learned the following:

It's not a matter of "If", just a matter of "When" for failure of tensioner parts and expensive damage. However, if parts are replaced before failure, it's not too bad, less than $1000, parts and labor. Furthermore, there are some special alignment tools needed, such that an owner should not do the work. Five tech hours and abt $350 parts. I will have them do that.
  • boodadaboodada Member Posts: 1
    Charlie- Is this for the secondary (upper) tensioners only? Where did you get the quote?
    Thanks, Bob
  • gregadgregad Member Posts: 1