Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Ford Expedition Transmission Problems

Comments

• jrochelle08jrochelle08 Member Posts: 1
    My boyfriend bought a used 1998 ford expedition 2years ago. To say the least there has been several problems and a lot of money spent on this vehicle. Just yesterday the truck started shaking as we accelerated in speed as well as declining in speed. We thought it could be the transmission or lack of transmission fluid but there is 3/4 of fluid in there. We don't know what the problem is and $$$ is short is there a possiblility it could be a wheel alignment problem because the wheels do need to be realigned or maybe air needs to be put in the tires. I'm not a car expert but this is the only vehicle we have and we cant afford for something real serious to be wrong.... :confuse:
  • mlh2mlh2 Member Posts: 1
    Did you ever find out what was really wrong with your expedition? We are now having the same problem. It is giving us the same code, but the mechanics say it is anything from the selenoid to torque convertor or maybe neither. Your response would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
  • 02ex02ex Member Posts: 2
    I have an 02 Expedition - 5.4, 4x4 - the speedometer needle is jumping all over the place - when i start it while still in park the needle jumps around sometimes it buries itself at 100mph - while i am sitting still. I had a mechanic run diagnostics on it yesterday and ended up replacing three sensors - one at the end of the transfer case near the trans, one at the back differential and one on the top of the trans - if seemed fine yesterday but today the needle still jumps around and when you come to a stop sign it dies. I drove it around the block all was okay till i stopped and turned the motor off but left the key on - the needle jumped around buried it self at 100 and then the motor died.