Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Pontiac Grand Am Service Engine Soon / ABS / Trac Off

Comments

• daikendaiken Member Posts: 1
    My son has a 02 grand am his trac,abs service vehicle lights are on he started to get a loud noise from the front end he had a bad wheel bearing on LF i replaced that i have been working on cars for 25 years i have never heard this type of noise before but after i replaced the wheel bearing we took it for a test drive and the same noise was there when you start out the noise is slight but the faster you go the louder it gets like when a jet starts up i tried putting it in nuetral to see if it was a engine noise it wasent even in nuetral going down a hill with rpms at7-800 the faster i went the sound got louder and faster as i slowed down so did the sound so i put it up on jack stand and had my son put it in gear and let the wheels spin with no weight on them i got under the car and the noise seem to be coming from the back part of the tranny where the right side shaft goes in between there and engine but its not comming from engine it sounds louder at this point than directly under the tranny ANY SUGGESTIONS ON WHAT THIS NOISE IS FROM and no the lights did not go out
  • nrbacarlnrbacarl Member Posts: 1
    I had a similar problem with my 98 Grand Am. From time to time, it also would not start. It didn't act like a dead battery, but after a battery charger indicated that it might be a bad cell int he battery, I decide to replace it. When I went to remove the terminals, I notice that the positive one was corroded on the inside and was difficult to remove. Just for kicks, I removed the bolt and cleaned it up and put it back together.

Not only did it start right up, the lights on the instrument panel quit coming on intermittently, the radio display stayed on all the time and the volume control started working correctly.